Crew, Arthur’s day and Cashel

Sorry I haven’t posted anything in a while, I meant to sit down and do a blog post earlier, but to be honest I haven’t really done too much. Anyways, this post will cover the main three things I’ve done these last two weeks.

So one of the main things I’ve been doing with my free time is rowing for the boat club. I’ve been going to practice on the rowing machines (called an erg) on Tuesdays and Thursdays, and then on Saturdays I’ve headed out to to the boathouse to get out on the water and row in an actual boat. Now, since we are all novices we are focusing mostly on learning proper technique, but it’s still a lot of fun. Below is a photo looking out over the Liffey from the boathouse.

Image

Arthur’s Day took place two weeks ago on Thursday, and it was a lot of fun. Arthur’s day started in 2009 as a way to celebrate the 250th anniversary of of the Guinness Brewing company. Guinness drinkers are supposed to raise a glass to the memory of Arthur Guinness at 17:59 (5:59 pm), as a reference to 1759, the year the Guinness Brewery was founded. Though I didn’t have a guinness at 17:59 because I had crew later and didn’t want to go workout with a beer in my stomach, I did go out later that night for a Guinness and the city was absolutely crazy. It seemed like everyone in Dublin was out. Alley’s were packed and music was blasting everywhere, not to mention a ton of bands were playing all over the city. It was a pretty fun night. A lot of people have criticized Arthur’s day, including an article that was in the New York times that damned the day, and one of my professor’s who made a comment about how much he disliked it.

Last weekend I didn’t travel much, except on Sunday I did a day trip with a friend of mine to Cashel. Cashel is a small town centered around the ruins of a twelfth century monastery. Before the monastery Cashel would have been where the Kings of Munster (a province of medieval Ireland) would have ruled from. So it was a pretty awesome day trip. While there we also saw the ruins of a Cistercian Abbey located just below the main ruins of Cashel. Below is a photo of the ruins of Cashel (which were under restoration) and a photo of me sitting on the wall around the ruins.ImageImage

 

This weekend I really haven’t done much because I didn’t travel anywhere. One of our friends from Georgetown is visiting us from Scotland so we’ve just been hanging out with him. I went rowing again on Saturday and that was a lot of fun, but like I said, other than that I really haven’t done much. Today, we did go and walk around Dublin Castle, and we got to see the ruins of the original walls of Dublin that the vikings built, which was pretty cool for me since I had an entire Vikings class last semester.

Hope you all enjoyed the updates even though they aren’t too exciting!

Leave a Reply

